Tokenized Revolut Scored 32 Out of 100. The Asset Wasn't the Problem.
RWA is the market's calm corner: real shares behind the token. Our CREV audit returned a C, 32 out of 100, while Revolut itself is profitable and growing. The risk sits in the wrapper.

Revolut is profitable, growing and heading for an IPO. A Swiss trust holds the exposure. The token is a ledger-based security under Swiss law. On paper, CREV is exactly the kind of real-world asset the market files under safe.
Our audit gave it a C: 32 out of 100.
RWA borrows its reputation from the asset
The market treats RWA as the calm corner of crypto. Real shares, real cash flows, real companies. That logic holds for the asset. It says nothing about the structure you actually buy.
A CREV holder doesn't own Revolut shares. They hold a claim against a trust for the economic outcome of a stake in an SPV that holds the shares. No vote, no place on the share register. Every layer in that chain is a place where value can leak.
The strongest block is the one the market already prices
Across eight scored blocks, the underlying asset came out on top. Revolut's 2025 numbers back it: $6b in revenue and $2,3b in pre-tax profit. Everything built around the company scored lower.
| Block | Score, of 100 | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Underlying asset | 67 | 10% |
| Legal nature and holder rights | 50 | 20% |
| NAV and oracle | 40 | 15% |
| Regulation and investor access | 39 | 10% |
| Smart contract and platform | 38 | 5% |
| Liquidity and exit | 33,4 | 15% |
| Fees | 22 | 10% |
| Ownership chain | 11,4 | 15% |
That gap is the whole story. The market prices the company. The risk sits in the wrapper.
Five links, and the critical one has no name
Investor → CREV on BNB Chain → Colb Trust → SPV (not disclosed) → Revolut shares (class not disclosed)
The SPV isn't publicly named. Neither are the share class, the share count, the entry price or the custodian. We found no public confirmation that Revolut consented to transfers into the SPV.
Until that changes, the investor relies on the operator's word that the asset exists as described. That's the red flag that caps the grade, whatever the total score says.
A doubling turns into 1,44-1,63x
The fee stack runs in layers: 2,5% on entry, 20% at the SPV level, 5% for SPV administration, 2,5% on exit. If Revolut's valuation doubles, a holder ends up with 1,44-1,63x. The range exists because the documents don't say whether the 20% is charged on profit or on proceeds. If the valuation stays flat, the holder loses about 10% on fees alone.
Media coverage described the product as having no management or performance fees. The documents show 20% and 5% built into NAV. That divergence cost 5 points by itself.
There's one more layer the fee table doesn't show. Revolut's CEO incentive plan lifts his stake from about 29% to 40% if the company reaches a $200b valuation. Every other shareholder, the SPV included, gets diluted by about 15,5%. An IPO at the target valuation already gives part of the upside away.
The price is whatever the operator publishes
NAV comes from recent SPV transactions, or from the company's quarterly valuation when there are none. That's standard for pre-IPO. The problem is who holds the pen. Only authorized operator roles can update the oracle, and no independent valuer is disclosed.
When Revolut gets revalued, NAV can lag the market in either direction. Holders have no external check on which valuation the current price reflects.
A calm price can mean no one is trading
Low volatility reads as stability. Sometimes it's just the absence of a market. CREV trades in a single PancakeSwap pool. At our data cut-off, DefiLlama showed zero DeFi TVL for the token against $88,09m in stated assets.
The real exit is the IPO, expected no earlier than 2028. A six-month lockup follows, then the shares are sold and the proceeds work their way back through the structure. Money realistically returns no earlier than 2029. There's no public scenario for an M&A or an abandoned IPO.
Secondary transfers aren't restricted either. Any address can buy the token, including one that never passed KYC. The professional-investors-only model holds on the primary market and leaks on the secondary one.
For issuers and investors in the UAE the same gap shows up under a different regulator. VARA in Dubai and ADGM in Abu Dhabi license the platform and the operator, not the economics of the instrument sold on it. A wrapper approved in one jurisdiction doesn't certify the chain of ownership behind the token, and a permissionless secondary market undercuts any professional-investors-only restriction written into the offering documents.
A rating turns a reputation into a checklist
RWA is safe is a narrative. A rating is a checklist with consequences. Red flags cap the grade no matter what the total says. Undisclosed data scores zero, not probably fine. Every point lost traces back to a document or to its absence.
That makes the score movable. CREV lost most of its points to undisclosed data, not to confirmed negative findings. None of the flags points to fraud. If Colb discloses the SPV, the fee base and the transfer rules, the score could rise to 55-65.
An audit doesn't just grade the token. It tells the issuer exactly which documents move the grade.
If you're tokenizing a real asset, these questions are coming
Professional capital already asks them. Answer them before launch, or the market prices the silence.
- Who is the SPV, and can a holder verify the shares behind it?
- Who values the asset, and is that party independent from you?
- Do the fees in your public messaging match your documents?
- Who can buy your token on the secondary market?
- What do holders get if the exit event never comes?
- Who protects holders if your platform shuts down?
A real asset doesn't make a token stable. A structure that can be checked does.
What this rating doesn't claim
The score is preliminary and waits on the issuer's response. It rates the token structure, not Revolut as an investment. It relies on public and on-chain data as of 24.09.2026. It isn't investment, legal or tax advice, and it isn't a credit rating.
We run these structure reviews out of Dubai, so if you're preparing an RWA offering for VARA or ADGM licensing, the checklist above is where we start.
Read the full CREV audit, all 12 blocks, the risk matrix and the questions we sent to the issuer. Launching an RWA token? 8Blocks runs the same review before launch.
Data: 8Blocks CREV security token audit, data cut-off 24.09.2026. Sources inside the audit: Colb Docs, CREV term sheet, DefiLlama, Sifted, The Paypers, TechRepublic.


